Welfare Info

Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program

Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs

What is Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program?

The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program provides overseas foreign language instruction and cultural enrichment experiences in 13 critical need languages for U.S. students in higher education.

The CLS Program is part of a U.S. government effort to expand dramatically the number of Americans studying and mastering critical need foreign languages. Undergraduate, master's, and doctoral-level students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply for the seven-to-ten week-long programs. Participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.


Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is administered by Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Program Requirements

All applicants must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Be enrolled in an accredited U.S. degree-granting program at the undergraduate or graduate level.
  • Be 18 by the beginning of the CLS program.
  • Undergraduate students must have completed at least one year of college coursework by the program start date.

Application Details

What is the application process for Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program?

To view eligibility requirements and application information about this program, please visit the
CLS Online Application Page.

Contact Info


How to Apply

Critical Language Scholarship

(Will open 3rd party site in a new window)